December 7, 2013 – Annual Meeting

Snowmobile North Dakota

Annual Meeting

December 7, 2013

The Snowmobile North Dakota (SND) Annual Meeting was held at the Grand International Inn in Minot, North Dakota.
Present Board Members:  Laura Forbes-President, Sheri Hoffmann-Vice President, Marty Malachowski-Past President, Troy Klevgard, Byron Norsby, Dale Deibert, Perry Brintnell, Tonia Dosch, Mark Shipley, Dan Tveito, Todd Rasmusson (Proxy for Brad Rodin) and Kristie Thone.

Others Present: Erik Dietrich, Matt Gardner – NDPRD, Keri Wanner-Executive Director, Tari Norby-Administrative Specialist, Todd Thronson-Trail Inspector – SND.

I.           Call to order – President Laura Forbes – 8:46 a.m.

  1. 40 delegates present

     II.          Approve Agenda

  1. Kevin Kubat made motion, Sherman Pladsen second to approve the agenda.  Motion carried.

    III.          Approve Minutes

  1. December 1, 2012

i.     Byron Norsby made motion, Dennis Hulm second to approve the minutes. Motion carried.

   IV.          Reports

  1. NDPRD-Matt Gardner & Erik Dietrich

i.     Governor opted in for RTP funding this year

  1. We now have funding until 2015
  2. Snowmobile community came together to show support for RTP

ii.     Safety simulator – Not at the convention

  1. No doors wide enough to get into building
  2. Contact NDPRD if interested in renting out the simulator

iii.     Public Service Announcements (PSA)

  1. Up on NDPRD & SND’s websites
  2. Sent to Radio & TV stations

iv.     Get all club event dates to Erik Dietrich for enforcement

v.     “Get Registered” flyer went out in the snowmobile registration renewal mailing

  1. Will be sending out another flyer in the season as a reminder

vi.     Snowmobile safety classes are getting scheduled and are going good

  1. SND

i.     Financials: Keri and Matt will be talking about the new trail funding program at 11 a.m.

ii.     Membership Module: New program again this season

  1. Couldn’t transfer the names from last season. Tari will be working on updating all the names.
  2. Documents will be put on the website for the club members that want to have control over entering the club information.

iii.     Club Officer Form: due December 15th – please have this in to the SND office by then to ensure club information is correct in the Sno-Dak News.

iv.     Project Ride:

  1. Join SND by 12/31/13 to be entered in a drawing to win a vacation package to the Red River South Trail
    1. Package includes: 2 nights lodging at the Alex House in Park River and a $50 certificate towards meals
    2. Clubs that join SND by 4/1/13 will receive 1 entry into a drawing for a gear bag for each member renewed and recruited.

v.     Sled’N Snap: A Canadian online photo contest

  1. ND is the first and only state that gets to participate in the program
  2. Must register your sled before uploading photos
  3. 6 different categories to submit different photos

vi.     Foremost Insurance: Any insurance policy sold to an SND member, SND will receive a kick back.

  1. Gear is covered
  2. Discount for taking the snowmobile safety class
  3. In 2014 a discount will be available if you have taken an avalanche class

vii.     Sno-Dak News Club Special: SND if offering all clubs a special rate of $100 for a colored business card size ads in the Sno-Dak News

viii.     Take a Friend Snowmobiling Contest: International Snowmobile Manufactures Association (ISMA) started this program a few years ago to encourage new riders.

  1. They award $5,000 for financial assistants to snowmobile clubs that host an event encouraging taking a friend snowmobiling between January 1st and March 31st.
  2. SND will be giving $1,000, from the raffle ticket money, to a club. All you have to do is submit SND the same application that you submit to ISMA.
  3. Last year only 3 clubs participated in the national program so odds are good.

     V.          Old Business

  1. SND Celebrates 40th Anniversary in 2014

i.     Board is looking into a new 40th Anniversary logo

  1. 5th year for the Pink Ribbon Riders

i.     Raised over $150,000 so far

ii.     Tigirlily is performin during the Welcome Party

iii.     Event held at Twin Oaks Resort on Lake Metigoshe January 10th & 11th

   VI.          New Business

  1. USXC Presentation – Presenter Brian Nelson

i.     Couldn’t make it because of travel conditions

  1. RiderX Presentation (Snow Trails App) – Presenter Gray Rentz

i.     Presented how the program benefits clubs so they can provide the latest trail reports and receive donations

  VII.          Announcements

  1. 5th Annual Pink Ribbon Riders ND Snow Run Event January 10th-11th, 2014 in Bottineau
  2. 2014 State Ride – Northeast Association-February 8th, 2014 in Walhalla, ND
  3. International Ride – February 14th-15th, 2014 in Minot, ND and Carnduff, Saskatchewan
  4. 2014 Convention – October 31st-November 2nd in Minot, ND
  5. 2015 State Ride & Convention

i.     State Ride will be head by the Southern Valley Trail Riders

ii.     No one for the State Convention yet. Please contact the office if interested

  1. VIII.          Adjournment
    1. Tom Clemens made motion, Shawn Cole second. Meeting adjourned.


Respectfully submitted,

Tari Norby & Keri Wanner

Election of officers:
The Board of Directors nominated Laura Forbes for President; no names came from the floor.  Sherman Pladsen made motion nominations cease and cast unanimous ballot, Myles Eckert second, motion carried.

The Board of Directors nominated Sheri Hoffmann for Vice-President, no names came from the floor.  Mark Forbes made motion nominations cease and cast unanimous ballot, Dennis Hulm second, motion carried.

Committee had no nominations for secretary.  Position will be filled by Tari Norby.

The Board of Directors nominated Marty Malachowski for Director-At-Large, no names came from the floor.  Kevin Kubat made motion nominations cease and cast unanimous ballot, Tom Clemens second, motion carried.

Regional Directors
Region 1:  Dale Deibert was re-elected to a two year term.  Byron Norsby has one more term with election in 2014.

Region 2:  Jesse Fritz was elected to a two year term in place of Tonia Dosch.  Mark Shipley has one more term with election in 2014.

Region 3:  Perry Brintnell was re-elected to a two year term.  Brian Sauer has one more term with election in 2014.

Region 4:  Todd Rasmusson was elected to a two year term in place of Brad Rodin.  Shawn Cole was voted to replace Dan Tveito in his last year with election in 2014.

Region 5:  Victor Evjen was elected to a two year term in place of Troy Klevgard.  Kristie Thone has one more term with election in 2014.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.